Home > Awards & Fellows > Distinguished Service Award > This Year's Distinguished Service Award

This Year’s Distinguished Service Award

The 2023 Distinguished Service Award recipient is Paul E. Rothrock

Paul E. Rothrock retired from Taylor University and as the associate curator of the Indiana University Herbarium in 2014.  While he currently resides in Bellevue, WA, during his many years in Indiana, Paul served the botany and general science communities broadly.  HIs many contributions to the 鶹 include:

  • 鶹 President, 2009
  • 鶹 Distinguished Scholar Award recipient, 2014
  • 鶹 Fellow, 1992
  • Co-editor of the Proceedings of the 鶹, 2011-2023
  • ѱ𳾲,Proceedings editorial board, 1990-2010

In addition to these service activities, Paul has published two books with the Academy press: Sedges of Indiana and Adjacent States: The Non-Carex Species;Ի Sedges of Indiana and Adjacent States: Volume 2. The Genus Carex. Paul has presented numerous workshops at 鶹 Annual Academy Meetings including sedge identification, digital herbarium, and floristic quality assessment. He has served on 4 different 鶹 committees: Biodiversity & Natural Areas, Editorial, Budget, and a temporary committee to review the constitution and leadership structure of the Academy.  Paul has participated in many BioBlitz events as participant and team leader.  His research has been supported by seven 鶹 Senior Grant awards and three Winona Welch grants.

The 鶹 is proud to recognize Paul E. Rothrock as the 2023 Distinguished Scholar Award recipient!




Give A Gift

Support 鶹 >

By financially supporting the 鶹 with your contribution, you can help to continue the work of Indiana scientists and aspiring scientists, and help shape a future we can all be proud of.

Copyright © 2024 鶹. All rights reserved.